IMG_0006A Dazzling Night for Grosse Pointe Theatre Awards

Grosse Pointe Theatre held its Annual Awards Dinner on June 14th to celebrate the end of its 66th season. The dinner was held at the Assumption Cultural Center in St. Clair Shores. Event chairperson Danielle Caralis of Birmingham orchestrated an enjoyable, elegant evening for members of Grosse Pointe Theatre and their friends. The evening highlighted the presentation of Grosse Pointe Theatre’s “Clarence” Awards (so named after GPT’s first production in 1948). The awards are given by vote of the members of Grosse Pointe Theatre. Les Miserables was chosen as the favorite show of the season.

For tickets see the Grosse Pointe Theatre website at www.gpt.org, or call 313-881-4004 for more information. GPT membership is open to all persons over age 18 with an interest in theatre. The annual membership fee is $45. Grosse Pointe Theatre is a non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization.

Following is a list of awardees and the productions with which they were associated:

Lead Female, Marie Boyle Reinman of Grosse Pointe Farms, Gypsy;

Lead Male, Doug Clark of Royal Oak, Les Miserables;

Support Female, Meagen Mazur of Washington Twp., Les Miserables;

Support Male, Brian Jones of Detroit, Les Miserables;

Featured Female, Grace Knoche of Chesterfield Twp., Les Miserables;

Featured Male, Kurt Bowen of Monroe, Les Miserables;

Non-Featured Female, Sara Shook of Grosse Pointe Woods, Gypsy;

Non-Featured Male, Kevin Fitshenry of Warren & Jason Oyler of St. Clair Shores, Les Miserables;

Director, Ron Bernas of Grosse Pointe Woods, 84 Charing Cross Road;

Producer, Lyndsey Briggs of Grosse Pointe Woods, A Grand Night for Singing;

Technical Director, Rick Hawley of Grosse Pointe Woods, Gypsy;

Musical Director, John Dickinson of Pleasant Ridge, White Christmas and Les Miserables;

Vocal Director, Stan Harr of Grosse Pointe Shores , Gypsy;

Choreographer, Nancy Graybill of Chesterfield Twp., White Christmas;

Costumers, Jeanne Chrisman and Anna Chrisman of Harper Woods, Les Miserables;

Set Designers, Jacqueline Di Sante of Grosse Pointe and Paula Di Sante of St. Clair Shores, Les Miserables;

Stage Manager, Arlene Marie Schoenherr of St. Clair Shores, A Grand Night for Singing;

Lighting, Dale Pegg and Dianne Pegg of Grosse Pointe Woods, 84 Charing Cross Road;

Properties, Yvonne Hewlett of Grosse Pointe Woods, 84 Charing Cross Road;

Set Dressing, Jane Burkey of Grosse Pointe Woods, Les Miserables;

Sound, Eric Vreeland of St. Clair Shores, 84 Charing Cross Road;

Makeup, Arlene Marie Schoenherr of St. Clair Shores, Les Miserables;

Hubbard Worker of the Year, Theresa Selvaggio of Grosse Pointe Farms and Don Bischoff of Macomb Township.

Special Awards also went to Lorena and Mike McDowell Parker of Grosse Pointe Woods, Jay Kaiser of Grosse Pointe, Nancy Bashara of Grosse Pointe Woods, Larry Carrico of Sterling Heights, Nick Doyle of Grosse Pointe Woods, Anna Chrisman of Harper Woods and Patricia Ellis of Grosse Pointe.